How to create the best moment of your week

Happy Wednesday!
Today I want to share with you my new favorite weekly ritual that takes about 15 minutes and has become the highlight of my wee

OK, now on to my new absolutely favorite weekly ritual.

A few Sundays ago, after working on my manuscript for most of the day, I was exhausted. Not just physically and mentally; I felt emotionally drained. Add to this the fact that the weather was stubbornly refusing to feel closer to spring than winter, I’d just lost out on a speaking gig I really wanted, and I was feeling pretty low.
My husband had taken our kiddo (she is 12, can I still call her that?) to get some takeout for dinner. I had about half an hour until they got home and I really didn’t want to be in such a crap mood when they got back. So I took out my watercolors, a few blank cards, and made Gratitude Notes for both of them.

I painted each card with some joyful colors and inside, wrote a few things I was truly grateful for, for my husband and my daughter. To make Monday happier, I saved the cards until then, and put them in front of where my husband and daughter usually sit at our kitchen table.
When they each walked into the kitchen on Monday morning, they grabbed the envelopes, read the cards, and lit up. I got the best hugs that day! But my gift was way better than a hug: It felt so good to write these letters of gratitude and whatever emotional drain I might have felt before, quickly dissipated.
Research shows that one of the most effective things you can do to feel happier, more optimistic, and positive is to write a letter of gratitude to someone. Research is right. I’m still beaming from this little ritual and I plan to turn it into a regular Sunday evening activity: Sunday Gratitude Letters.
If you experience Monday dread, or weekend end dread, or any kind of dread at all, I can’t recommend it highly enough. It’s like infusing your heart with the deepest sense of joy and warmth, not to mention doing the same for your gratitude letter recipients.

 

Leave a Reply

