3 Myths of Decluttering

  1. “I need to keep this as a memento of a happy time.” True, remembering happy times in the past gives you a big happiness boost in the present. But ask yourself: Must I keep all these T-shirts to remind me of college, or can I keep just a few? Do I need fifty finger paintings by my toddler, or is one enough? Mementos work best when they’re carefully chosen — and when they don’t take up much room. 
  2. “I need to keep this, because the person who gave it to me might visit my house and be hurt when it’s not on display.” Do you think this person will actually visit and actually notice?
  3. “If I have any available space, I should fill it up with something.” Preserve some empty areas. An empty area feels like a luxury. 
Leave a Reply

